A record number of voters turned out for the Midterms Nov. 6, and the same rang true for the tri-county area.
On the average, voter turnout in Izard, Sharp and Fulton counties was 54 percent of registered voters. Statewide turnout was 49 percent, and Republicans topped the win list in both county and state offices.
In Izard County, 1,974 of the county’s 8,068 registered voters had cast ballots by Nov. 5.
In Izard County, Judge Eric Smith kept his seat with 3,342 votes over opponent Warren Skelton with 1,135; Earnie Blackley became Sheriff with 3,501 votes over Rick Kimble with 966; for Collector, Paul D. Womack upset incumbent Marilyn Downing in a close race 2,350 to 2,132. Walter Hagan won Justice of the Peace (JP) District 2 with 262 votes against Thomas W. Rushing with 162; for JP District 3, a runoff was declared between John Walker with 199 and Randy “Hank” Sherrell with 145, Jared Johnson received 98; JP District 4, Willie Moser incumbent, won with 205 over Michelle Graetz with 163; JP District 7, Blake Johnson won with 383 over Brian Biard with 147; for Constable of Gid, Donnie Tate won with 63 over George F. Whitfield with 28.
City of Horseshoe Bend, Craig M. Huckaby won the Mayor’s seat with 60.4% of the vote, 464 votes, over opponent Marty McKnight’s 304; Alderman Ward 3, Pos. 1, George Williamson won with 116 votes to O.G. Minze’s 48. City of Calico Rock, Greg Hamby is the new Mayor beating incumbent Ronald Guthrie 196-173; Alderman: Ward 2, Pos. 1, Steven Lively beat Cynthia L. Wildhagen 195-173; Ward 2, Pos. 2, Howard Jeffery won with 262 over Leon Cheatham’s 103; Ward 4, Pos. 2, Jim King won the seat with 257 votes against Fred Blickle with 109. City of Melbourne, Alderman: Ward 4, Pos. 2, Mike Cone won with 121 over Sonia Blankenship with 97. City of Oxford, Douglas Yancey won the Mayor’s seat against Billy Ray Harris with a vote of 155-72. City of Pineville, Joe Stephen won the Mayor’s seat against opponent Sharon K. Sanders, 41-28.
In Fulton County, 1,876 of the county’s 7,100 registered voters had cast ballots by Nov. 5.
In Fulton County, the Judge’s seat was won by Jim Kendrick with 2,010 votes over incumbent Darrell Zimmer with 1,821; JP District 3, Burton Yarnell kept his seat with 238 votes to opponent Gene McBride’s 204; JP District 5, Johnny Moody incumbent, won over Randy L. Wilson 281-178; JP District 7, Ray Matthew beat Tesa Bishop Nelson incumbent, 275-214; JP District 9, Charles R. Kendrick won with 194 votes over Jimmy Marler incumbent, 127. City of Mammoth Spring, Charles Vaughn won in a close Mayor’s race, with 178 to Jean Pace’s 173; Alderman, Ward 1, Pos. 2, Adam Davis beat Wilma Rogers, 191-158; Ward 2, Pos 1, Frankie Joan Baker won over Carla Parnell 194-146.
In Sharp County, 2,860 of the county’s 11,050 registered voters had cast ballots by Nov. 5.
In Sharp County, Coroner, Renee Clay-Circle, incumbent won with 3,494 over Seth H. Wortham with 2,107; JP District 1, Roger C. Stark incumbent, beat Phillip Sullivan, 388-360; JP District 2, Briana Dilorio incumbent, beat Garry Lawrence 453-274; JP District 5, Tony Vaughn incumbent, beat Ruth Rogers 397-192; JP District 6, Everett McGuire incumbent, won with 284 votes over opponents David R. Cook with 89, and Jackie Pickett with 168. City of Cherokee Village, Russ Stokes kept the Mayor’s seat with 741 votes to Darryl Matson’s 679; City Clerk: Deb Weichinger won with 738 over Billie J. Suiters with 621; Alderman Ward 3, Pos. 2, Stephen D. Thompson won with 938 votes over Paul R. Huensch’s 437. City of Hardy, Ernie Rose won the Mayor’s race over three opponents, getting 206 votes to Nina S. Thornton with 12, Jason Jackson with 71 and Timothy Seeger with 6; Alderman: Ward 1, Pos. 1, Bob Gilliland won 163-124 over Vickie Rice; Ward 1, Pos. 2, Penny Mendes Allen won 160-128 over Laura J. Smith; Ward 2, Pos. 1, Bruce Thurow beat Nimmi Desai 188-100; Ward 2, Pos. 2, Matthew Coggins won 182-106 over David Bathrick; Ward 3, Pos. 1, Mark Gordon beat Tracie Moore 178-109, Ward 3, Pos. 2, Sue Taylor won 158-131 over Raymond Hicks. City of Highland, Russell Truitt won the Mayor’s race over Timothy G. Eash, 220-158; Alderman: Ward 3, Pos. 1, Steven Rose beat Johnny Ivey 251-122.
Federal and State office results: U.S. Congress, District 1, Congressman Rick Crawford won with 69.83%; Gov. Asa Hutchinson won with 65.49%; Lt. Gov. Tim Griffin won with 64.36%; Atty. Gen. Leslie Rutledge won with 61.97%; Secretary of State, John Thurston won with 60.82%; State Treasurer Dennis Milligan won with 71.02%; Auditor of State Andrea Lea won with 72.47%; Commissioner of State Lands, Tommy Land won with 60.23%; State Senate District 19, James Sturch won with 72.90%; State Representative District 61, Marsh Davis won with 50.63%; State Supreme Court Associate Justice Pos. 3 Courtney Goodson won with 55.60%.
Issue No. 2 requiring photo ID to vote, Issue No. 4 Arkansas casino gaming, and Issue No. 5 increasing the Arkansas minimum wage, all passed.

Horseshoe Bend American Legion Post #344 invites everyone to the Veterans Day Ceremony on Monday, Nov. 12 at Veterans Park, beginning at 11 a.m. All citizens are invited to join the Legion in honoring the men and women who served their country in uniform. Bring your lawn chairs. On Nov. 9 at 10 a.m. the ICC High School Band and Choir will perform at the Music in the Mountains Theatre, honoring all Veterans. Everyone is invited. On Saturday, Nov. 17, there will be a Veterans Appreciation Night at the Music in the Mountains Theatre beginning at 6 p.m.
Salem VFW Post 9777 and Auxiliary invite all to the Veterans Day Ceremony on Monday, Nov. 12 beginning at 11 a.m. The ceremony will be held at the memorial located at 105 Veterans Way in Salem. Follow Hwy. 395 toward Moko. Sheriff Al Roork will be the guest speaker, and chili and hot dogs will be served.
Cherokee Village American Legion Post #346 and Auxiliary invites everyone to their Veterans Day Ceremony at the A.L. Hutson Center in Highland, on Sunday, Nov. 11 at 2 p.m. Refreshments will be served. Speaker will be Roger Delffs, Ret. USAF, and music will be provided by the Highland High School Band under the direction of Greg Bruner, with Denise Gibbons vocalist. On Nov. 9 at 10 a.m. the Cherokee Village American Legion Post #346 will host a ceremony at the old Highland High School gymnasium. Speaker will be Alicia Grannis, Regional Veterans Service Officer from Mountain Home.

Mayor Bob Barnes called the regular meeting of the Horseshoe Bend City Council to order at 6 p.m. on Oct. 22.
Present were Alderman Luther Yancey, Teresa Orrick, Jeanette Hilliker, Tom Richardson, Marty McKnight, Sonny Minze, John Grochowski and Ron Yow, Recorder/Treasurer Michelle Grabowski and City Attorney Jim Short.
The reading of the minutes were waived by prior council action, Yow moved to approve September 2018 minutes and treasurer’s report, seconded by Richardson. Motion passed unanimously. The minutes are available for inspection in the office of the Recorder/Treasurer during normal business hours, and the treasurer’s report has been posted on the bulletin board for public inspection.
Regular Committee Reports were received from the Public Works Department, Sheriff’s Department, Fire Department, Airport Commission, MSID, CSID, MRID, Code Enforcement, Honorary Police, Board of Zoning and Adjustment, Planning Commission, Building Committee, Finance Committee, Animal Control, Recycling Center, and the Library.
New Business: Barnes entertained a motion to approve Resolution 2018-08, Certifying the 2017 Millage Rates. Yow so moved, seconded by Minze. Motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.
Announcements: Voting in the General Election will be held at City Hall. Early Voting is on Friday, Nov. 2, and the General Election on Tuesday, Nov. 6.
The next finance committee meeting is scheduled for Nov. 14, and the next city council meeting is scheduled for Nov. 26, at 6 p.m.

Follow by Email